I Have So Much to Learn…

from my 4 year old and my husband.  Contentment.  Thankfulness.  Joy.  Selflessness.  And these are just a few of them!  Yesterday was David’s birthday.  Here is how it was “supposed” to go: Our good friends were going to keep the girls overnight Thursday.  We had gift cards to eat out and would either go see a movie (also with gift cards) or come home and watch some of David’s favorite TV shows.  Friday morning, we would sleep in, I would make a yummy breakfast, send him off to work with a good lunch and eagerly anticipate his arrival home.  We’d maybe even surprise him with coffee or something fun during the day!  I was sure the house would be spotless, girls would be happy, I’d fix whatever he wanted for dinner and we’d have a great evening together 🙂 Now here’s how his birthday actually happened: Wednesday night, Jaida threw up.  Only once and then slept through the rest of the night.  Okay, we’ll be find to go out Thursday night, right?  Wrong.  Graceyn and I both woke up with it and were sick all day.  David stayed home and worked on taxes so he could help take care of Jaida.  He went off to work that afternoon since Jaida would nap, leaving Graceyn and I to just rest on the couch, in between episodes of cleaning her up 😦  While he was gone, I began to worry about dehydration for her.  We went back and forth when the dr, making an appt, canceling it, contemplating it once again, before she finally started keeping fluids down and we knew she’d be okay.  That night, instead of having a date, he ate beans and rice, helped get the girls down, and continued with his taxes while I passed out on the couch for the evening.  Friday morning…his actual birthday.  No yummy breakfast; cereal.  No good lunch for work; beans and rice.  No surprise of coffee during the day (although he DID use some change to get Starbucks for himself!)  I spent the day trying to disinfect the house.  But now, it’s late afternoon and David’s coming home at 4:30!  Woohoo!!!  We’ll celebrate tonight 🙂  I wasn’t prepared for such an early arrival but I finished up all the disinfecting, laundry, etc that I could, bathed both girls, got a shower, and we were READY.  “Let’s all go out to eat” he said.  So that’s our plan.  I had to run by the church to unlock nurseries for an event, so I did that while he got ready.  On the way home, he called.  Jaida, who was with me, was screaming.  “On that note,” he said, “why don’t we just stay home tonight.”  Immediately, I was crushed again.  “Why?” I asked.  And I got the dreaded answer…I’m feeling kinda funny.  NOOOOOOO!!!!  No, God!  He can’t be sick on his BIRTHDAY!!!  Because people NEVER get sick on their birthdays right?  And this is just terrible right?  Woe is me!  Woe is him!  Good grief I’m ridiculous!  Now, here’s where the lessons begin. Never in ANY of this has my amazing husband seemed disappointed, frustrated, angry, upset, etc.  I knew he needed to work on Thursday and yet he stayed home with us.  I know he needed to get taxes finished, and he helped with Jaida in the midst of working.  I know he wanted a yummy breakfast, and not a word about it.  I know beans and rice don’t make up a spectacular birthday lunch, and again not a word.  I know he wanted to go out last night, and he was perfectly fine with my scrambled eggs and leftover pancakes.  “His present” this year was one of Graceyn’s toddler Bibles and one of Jaida’s snuggle blankets that Graceyn insisted on putting in a box and “wrapping” for him (using a blanket)  🙂  Super cute, and yes he was very gracious!  And God was teaching me through watching the 2 of them.  Graceyn LOVES birthdays about as much as I do.  And yes she asked why he didn’t have a party and invite people.  Yes she asked about the cake.  Yes she asked why we weren’t taking him out to a restaurant for dinner.  BUT, she accepted every answer without complaint.  And she was very appreciative of the “yummy dinner” (she has eggs every morning for breakfast mind you and we’ve had pancakes several times this week so it wasn’t anything special). Her excitement over making 5 cards for daddy and wrapping his gift was contagious!  At dinner she told me that it had been a great birthday 🙂  Had we done ANYTHING special that day?  Not really.  I cleaned while she entertained herself or watched TV.  Daddy worked.  But it was okay 🙂 I love my family and I love how God uses them to teach me how silly I am.  I love my husband’s selfless contentment.  When things don’t go as planned, it’s okay.  We re-adjust.  I love my daughter’s excitement.  When things don’t go as planned, she’s finds something else to bring excitement.  One day, perhaps I’ll learn 🙂  God’s plans are better than ours. By the way, I was sure the evening, after bedtime would be just fine as long as David wasn’t sick.  He wasn’t 🙂  How did we spend our evening?  With 2 girls finally settling down an hour later than normal, working on a budget, and THEN watching Blue Bloods together 🙂  Today, we are attempting a “do-over” and my husband is sleeping in.  Will I make a yummy breakfast?  WHO KNOWS?!?! 🙂  And that’s OK 🙂

Leave a comment